learning limits

My husband was an automotive industry casualty, as of just a couple weeks ago. Because our current location does not hold much for us, we’ve decided to pack up and move to another state where we’ll have more opportunities, better weather, and a change of scenery. So my job (with hubby’s help) has been to sort out what we no longer need and don’t want to lug across state lines. This involves a lot of freecycling and selling items on craigslist and ebay. I’d been slowly decluttering over the past several months anyway just because it’s a good thing to do, but now we’ve kicked it into high gear, and have started boxing up things we’re keeping but not using. We’re planning to leave in the next 2.5-3 months.

Yesterday we picked up some small book boxes (1ft cubes), and I boxed up about 8 of them with paperbacks, text books, some knicknacks, etc. I was lifting boxes of books and putting them on the shelves to keep them out of the way, but since everything was in close proximity (not a lot of walking with heavy objects), I thought this was the perfect job for me.

Wrong. :( As soon as I slowed down and took a break, I started stiffening up. I got help getting my TENS unit on my lower back, which helped a bit. By the time I went to bed a few hours later, my shoulders were hurting so badly that I was sick to my stomach. I used an electric heating pad for awhile, but it didn’t do much. I woke up feeling only slightly better.

And today I’m exhausted. I’m in a lot less pain now that I’ve been up for awhile, but I’m pretty much useless as far as being active goes. I’ve managed some more ebaying (anyone want to buy an audiobook?) but not much in the boxing department.

So I’ve learned an important fibro lesson today: You can overdo it without having a clue you’re overdoing it. And what is considered “overdoing it” today might not be the same as what was “overdoing it” last year or next week. It’s like a big game of fibro roullette. And while I feel like the fibro is in charge right now, I’m slowly getting the hang of it, and soon it won’t be. Because I really want my life back.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

